Precision Mid Side MS Matrix Boards and Kits

MS-II Second Generation Precision Mid Side Matrix

Mastering Transfer Console Input-Gain-Filter-Output

Elliptic Equalizer for Mastering with 12dB/Octave Slopes
Mastering Insert Switcher, Passive, Fully-Balanced, Two Insert with Flip

Phono Transfer System

Stereo Width Controller Board

Dual Class-A II Line Driver and Headphone Amplifier Board

MS Matrix Schematics and Construction Information

Line Driver-Receiver and Other Alternative Applications for the MS Matrix Board

Using the Precision MS Matrix Encoder to Drive "A Mid Side Speaker Array For A Big Ambient Sweet Spot"

Visit the
RockmoreLabs Store

Buy JRC and THAT Corporation Audio ICs

Visit The Pro Audio Design Forum

The MS Matrix is Offered as A Bare Circuit Board, PC Board with THAT ICs, or Assembled and Tested Shown Above.

This is the MS Matrix based on the design published in the Pro Audio Design Forum used by mastering facilities world-wide. The Precision MS Matrix uses THAT1240 line receivers with resistor matching of 0.005% to perform high accuracy mid-side sum and difference functions. The crosstalk performance is typically >60 dB across the full audio band. In the precision monitoring mode, which bypasses the encoder line driver and decoder line receiver, crosstalk is typically >75dB. The precision monitoring mode allows the matrix to remain in the path "A-B" comparison and level-match.

The Precision M/S Matrix provides simultaneous encode/decode capability. THAT1246 line receivers and THAT1646 OutSmarts
line drivers provide fully-balanced I/O for the encoder and decoder inputs and outputs.

Additional unbalanced insert points are provided for encode left and right (post line receiver), encode mid and side (pre line driver), decode mid and side additional insert points permit muting, level trim and precision "end-to-end" monitoring via external circuitry.

The decode path has user-adjustable gain or attenuation before the final L and R outputs to provide overall unity gain E-E operation. If a variable gain encode option is required for the M and-or S channels to reduce "mono build-up," the decode section can be used to encode (and vice-versa) with reduced precision. The MS board can also operate as two simultaneous encoders or decoders by simply redefining its connections.

In addition to duty as an MS Matrix, the insert points allow the board to be the four THAT1646 line driver outputs provide user-selectable variable gain. The MS Board configured as a line driver receiver is the "Swiss Army Knife" of balanced I/O.

RMAA test results including crosstalk, noise and distortion performance are here.

The discussion thread for the Precision M/S Matrix is featured in the Pro Audio Design Forum. There's a GearSlutz discussion on the Precision M/S Matrix here.

The Precision MS Matrix is sold as either a bare PC board, a "kit" including THAT1240, THAT1246 and THAT1646 ICs, or an assembled and fully-tested module.

A Mouser Electronics Project Manager bill-of-materials is available for DIY builds of the Precision MS Matrix.

Other items from KA-Electronics RockmoreLabs:

In Stock!

Bare PC Board
$29.95 US

Bare PC Board Including THAT ICs for MS Matrix
(4 each THAT1240, 1246, 1646.)
$74.95 US

Assembled and Tested MS Matrix PC Board Including All ICs

$199.95 US
Buy it on Etsy


Contact us

Thank you! The Precision MS Matrix clients include: Paul Gold, Bob Katz, Stephen Hoist, Puertas Antonin, Stephen Snavley, Michael Mader, Milos Pavlovick, Jeffrey Fung-Loy, Jeremy Williams, Stanislaw Eberlein, Daniel Silvia, David Carlsson, Jonathine Conine, Mako Natsume, Michael Sandsedt, Da Goose Music, Frederic Alstadt, Douglas Williams, Peter Croissant, Ludwig Maier, Michele D'Anca, Andrew Hughes, John Ross, Drew Cappotto, Marko Schoen, Kevin Sykes, Dan Devecka, Michael Blockland, Stale Storlokken, Diffusion Audio, Arti Hadi Mohamed, Ross Giles, Fabio Giraldo, Clive Jenkins, Jena Technologies, Jaun A Campos Garcia, Maximillian Ondrusch, Fabio Delben, Antoine Toublanc, Dan Kennedy, Ao Mahana, Marc Goldman, John Baldwin, Darcy Lindahl, Guy Foucher, Brian Horvitz, Sean Williams, Herve Keroullias, Brio Taliaferro, Wladi Turkewitsch, Michael Krizizek, Udo Terlisten, Jules Fradet, Daniel Ovie, Bruno Cimenti, Udo Terlisten, Andreas Wolff, Columbus Discount Records, William Wilson, Little Red Book Mastering, Jaakko Viitalahde, Haima Marriott, Anthony Paganini, Doctron UG, Novko Ilic, James Renny, Daniel Joseph, James Fei, Jonathan Reig, Kevin Bartley, Remi Gonzales, Holger Classen, Nathan Turnbull, Steven Glaze, Bonati Mastering, Aubrey Ottley, Darryl Dearing, Robert Fausner, Elektra Mastering, Dylan Lauzon, Mantas Stankunas, Heikki Tikas, Dub Studio Vinyl Cutting, Jean-Charles Panizza, Dr. Jim Rothwell, Ross Martin, Mark Watson, Jered Flickenger, Martin, Englert, Ruben Hulzebosch, Fokuss Productions, Teemu Muikku, Carlo Cola, Arne Ziemann, Peter Gonzales, Guiseppe Rodolfi, Nils Faller, Alessandro Benedettelli, Patrick Klem, Gabriel Ogrin, Jun Fernandez, Pedro Romero, Sebatien Chimenes, Greg Reierson, Kudrina Irina, Yu Riy, Jean-Pierre Teulade, Josh Starks, James Lockhart, Rowan Spicer, Xewin Sylvain Ehinger, Tobia Ober, Ian Sefcheck, Trotto Tiziano, Temmy Soesanto, Robb Morrison, Olof Gornerup, Alexandre Beucler, Christophe Chapelle, Fred Masson, Michael Clarke, Salvatore Iaconis, John McAllister, Peirre Caillet, Scott Hull Mastering, Pierre-Yves Marani, Jason May, Ardi Maesalu, Markus Kretschmer, Markus Samper, Martijn Ceulemans, Arne Ziemann, Sinetracks Mastering, Roman Adam, Lee Cardan, Sketch Da Shaman, Adam Smith, Parshikov Olegovich, Camilo Ruiz, McFarlane Audio, Ates Kozal, Chang Wei Heng, Dan Steinman, Paul Ebert, Vincent Charpentier, Alexander Khryplyvyy, Ed Hamilton, Stewart Walker, David Lindsey Ricardo, Mary Jones, Sam Winston, Bruce Seifried, Franco Bedin, Matthew Tucci, Andreas Koslik, Make Believe Studio, Kevin Ramsey, Hannes Haindl, Patricio Tron, Antti Voipio, Zander Macharis, Norbert Hesse, Denis Alexeitsev, Dave Cotgrave, David G Brown, Martin Sequeira, Peter Montgomery, Sjoerd Wijdoogen, Quentin Smith, Jimmy Cassar, Franz Mikorey, Klaus Scheuerrmann, Antonio Lopez, Domenic Sabol, David Thrasher, Linh Trac Ngoc, Machio Yamaguchi, Simon Li, Ian Stewart, Antti Pussinen, Robin Lockhart, Daniel Sexton, Frank Phillips, Andy Logan, Huw Williams, Pierre Garnier, Marcelo Navia, Jeffrey DeGans DaGoose Music, Marco Simonelli, Jon Tomblom, Adrien Sauvaget, Ralph Zazula, Frederick Alonso, Adam Posly, Jorn Brodersen, Antony Destras, Byron Pickles, Danny Collart, Narve Vik-Strandli....

OutSmarts is a trademark of THAT Corporation. 2018 Wayne Kirkwood